Outstanding Achievement Award to Foley Washington D.C.

11 June 2007 News

On June 14, 2007, the Washington Lawyers' Committee for Civil Rights and Urban Affairs will present an Outstanding Achievement Award to Foley for its pro bono efforts on behalf of the Committee's Public Accommodations Project. The award recognizes the firm’s work representing plaintiffs in four civil actions against the Waffle House restaurant chain and its franchisees. (The suits alleged that the eatery engaged in race-based discrimination in its provision of services in violation of public accommodations laws. The cases have now been settled.)

Efforts on these matters were led by Jack Lahr, Ken Krosin, Larry Shatzer, Brian McNamara and Gary Zinkgraf, and more than 20 individuals across Foley offices and departments worked on the cases.

Jack Lahr and Steve Lambert will accept the award on the firm’s behalf at the Committee's Wiley A. Branton Awards Luncheon taking place at the Grand Hyatt Washington Hotel. The event is expected to draw approximately 800 attendees.

The Washington Lawyer’s Committee for Civil Rights and Urban Affairs is one of the premier providers of pro bono legal services in the Washington, D.C. area. Foley Partner Jim Bierman previously served as co-chair of the organization. To learn more about the awards, visit www.washlaw.org.