Aurora Cancer Care Receives 8th Annual Foley Cancer Center Innovator Award

03 December 2014 Media Contact: Dan Farrell News

Foley is pleased to announce Aurora Cancer Care of Milwaukee, Wis., as the recipient of its annual Cancer Center Innovator Award for the second time in four years. The 2014 award was accepted by Aurora Cancer Care Director of Medical Oncology Dr. Jacob Frick at the recent Cancer Center Business Summit (CCBS) in Chicago.

“We are thrilled to honor Dr. Frick and the entire team of professionals at Aurora Cancer Care,” said Michael Blau, a Foley partner and health care attorney. “Their dedication to providing high-quality, efficient, team-based care and unique patient support is truly a model for the industry.”

The organization’s noteworthy initiatives include: 

  1. Chairside medication dispensing – Aurora Cancer Care’s chairside prescription dispensing service gives patients access to medication while receiving chemotherapy infusion, thus eliminating the need to make additional stops before or after their treatment.
  2. Streamlined pharmacy services through the use of technology – Linking electronic health records and audiovisual technology allows Aurora Cancer Care to provide pharmaceutical support across all 22 of its clinics that helps keep costs low for patients. Six full-time pharmacists staff the busiest clinics and use technology to facilitate real-time communication with chemotherapy technicians in the remaining clinics.
  3. Cross-functional financial aid teams – By establishing teams of social workers, benefits determination specialists, financial advocates and application counselors, Aurora Cancer Care proactively identifies patients with potential financial hardships. Once a need is established, the team connects eligible patients to available funding sources through Medicare/Medicaid, cancer treatment copayment assistance foundations, pharmaceutical copay cards, drug assistance programs, Social Security disability benefits and other health insurance through the online marketplace.

“We are honored to receive Foley’s Cancer Center Innovator Award,” said Frick. “We take immense pride in our unique approach to easing the burden of cancer treatment. Our team is dedicated to helping patients get accurate information about their disease, understand their choices, feel supported through critical decisions and keep their focus on getting better.”

Foley’s Cancer Center Innovator Award was created in 2007 to recognize cancer treatment modernization. This year’s selection was based on submissions for the CCBS Call for Business Case Studies, which was issued in conjunction with the American Society of Clinical Oncology Journal of Oncology Practice. Candidates submitted case studies highlighting solutions to industry challenges. The winner was selected by an industry-wide panel of judges, including: Dr. John Cox of Texas Oncology and editor in chief of the Journal of Oncology Practice; Elaine Towle, Director Consulting Services, Oncology Metrics division of Flatiron Health; and Foley’s Michael Blau.

At the 2014 Cancer Center Business Summit, industry leaders explored the changes occurring in the cancer care marketplace and how cancer care organizations are responding to them. For more information about this year’s event, please visit the Cancer Center Business Summit website.

Related Services