Legal Considerations when Launching an NFT Marketplace

31 January 2022 Webinar Past Event

Location

Webinar

Agenda

12:00 - 4:30 p.m. EST

Session I - Addressing Third-party Risks in NFT Deals

As consumer demand for NFTs continues, organizations looking to capitalize on the hype need to be aware of the legal risks. At various stages of the life of an NFT - from ideation to its creation and minting on the blockchain, to being listed and offered for sale, and potentially being resold by the purchaser – several third-party stakeholders are involved. While some of the third-party risks associated with NFTs and their creation, promotion, and sale will be familiar to organizations and their legal teams, others are unique to the NFT and blockchain space. Join us for a discussion on the third parties involved in a drop, offering, or other deal involving NFTs and how to address the third-party risk that is presented with respect to the various stakeholders involved.

Key topics to be discussed:

  • Introduction to NFTs/Lifecycle of an NFT
  • Who’s Involved – the Stakeholders in an NFT Deal
  • Legal Risks as to each Third-Party Stakeholder

Session II - Advertising Law Issues

What are the advertising legal issues raised by the NFT craze and how can we solve them?

Key topics to be discussed:

  • What are the advertising issues coming up in the NFT space?
  • What legal issues does this activity raise?
  • How can lawyers most effectively counsel clients on the advertising and consumer protection aspects of NFT drops

Session III - Legal Considerations when Launching an NFT Marketplace - Catherine Zhu & Louis Lehot

Attendees will learn survey overview of key legal issues involved in establishing an NFT marketplace.

Key topics to be discussed:

  • Securities law
  • Regulatory
  • Privacy
  • Commercial
  • Intellectual Property

Session IV - NFTs and Intellectual Property

In this program we will discuss how intellectual property rights affect the sale and ownership of non-fungible tokens (NFTs), including what IP rights an NFT seller should be aware of, whether an IP owner can stop the sale of NFTs connected to their rights, and what IP rights, if any, an NFT purchaser owns.

Key topics to be discussed:

  • What are NFTs
  • IP rights contained within NFTs
  • IP rights of NFT owners

Date / Time: January 31, 2022

  • 12:00 pm – 4:30 pm Eastern
  • 11:00 am – 3:30 pm Central
  • 10:00 am – 2:30 pm Mountain
  • 9:00 am – 1:30 pm Pacific

Click here to register (Access Code: FLardnerLLP). For questions or more information about this event, please contact Angela Vastey, avastey@foley.com.

Related Services

Legal Considerations when Launching an NFT Marketplace

Location

Webinar

Agenda

12:00 - 4:30 p.m. EST