2010 Cost-of-Living Adjustments Announced

19 October 2009 Publication

Legal News Alert: Employee Benefits

The IRS has announced the cost-of-living adjustments applicable to dollar limitations for pension plans and other amounts for 2010.

This special edition of Foley's Legal News Alert contains a table showing the 2010 and 2009 amounts. All amounts shown on the table are unchanged for 2010.

This Legal News Alert should be forwarded to persons in charge of determining which employees of publicly traded companies are “specified employees” for IRS Section 409A purposes.

2010 Limitations for Employee Benefit Plans

2009

2010

§401(k) Deferrals / 403(b) Deferrals (§402(g)(1))

$16,500

$16,500

 

Catch-Up Contributions for Individuals Age 50 or Older (§414(v)(2)(B)(i))

$5,500

$5,500

 

Compensation Limit (§401(a)(17))

$245,000

$245,000

 

Defined Benefit Limit (§415(b)(1)(A))

$195,000

$195,000

 

Defined Contribution Limit
(§415(c)(1)(A))

$49,000

$49,000

 

Highly Compensated Employees (HCEs) Nondiscrimination Testing Threshold (414(q)(1)(B)) Pay Exceeding *

$110,000 *

$110,000 *

 

Key Employee Officer Compensation Threshold (§416(i)(1)(A);
§409A(a)(2)(B))

$160,000

$160,000

 

Social Security Limits:

Old Age, Survivors, and Disability Insurance (OASDI) Tax Rate

6.2 percent

6.2 percent

OASDI Taxable Wage Base

$106,800

$106,800

Medicare Tax Rate

1.45 percent

1.45 percent

Medicare Taxable Wage Base

All Wages

All Wages

Self-Employed OASDI Tax Rate

12.4 percent

12.4 percent

Self-Employed Medicare Tax Rate

2.9 percent

2.9 percent

 

Other Indexed Limits:

§457 Deferrals (§457(e)(15))

$16,500

$16,500

Simplified Employee Pension (SEP) Maximum Pay (§408(k)(3)(C))

$245,000

$245,000

SEP Eligibility Pay Threshold
(§408(k)(2)(C))

$550

$550

Savings Incentive Match
Plan for Employees of Small Employers (SIMPLE) Salary Reduction Maximum (§408(p)(2)(E))

$11,500

$11,500

Exclusion for Transportation in a Commuter Highway Vehicle and Any Transit Pass Per Month
(§132(f)(2)(A))

$230 **

$230

Exclusion for Qualified Parking Per Month (§132(f)(2)(B))

$230

$230

 

Employee Stock Ownership Plans (ESOP) Payouts in Excess of Five Years (§409(o)(1)(C))

  • One Year for Each:

$195,000

$195,000

  • In Excess of:

$985,000

$985,000

* Current year classification is based on prior year compensation and limit. 2010 nondiscrimination testing will generally rely on the 2009 limitation of $110,000 for determining HCEs and the 2010 limitation of $110,000 will apply for 2011 nondiscrimination testing. Employers may, but are not required to, apply the top-paid 20 percent test in conjunction with this compensation limit.

** Months beginning after February 17, 2009.


Internal Revenue Service regulations generally require that, for purposes of avoiding United States federal tax penalties, a taxpayer may only rely on formal written opinions meeting specific requirements described in those regulations. This newsletter does not meet those requirements. To the extent this newsletter contains written information relating to United States federal tax issues, the written information is not intended or written to be used, and a taxpayer cannot use it, for the purpose of avoiding United States federal tax penalties, and it was not written to support the promotion or marketing of any transaction or matter discussed in the newsletter.


Legal News Alert is part of our ongoing commitment to providing legal insight to our employee benefits clients and colleagues. If you have any questions about or would like to discuss these topics further, please contact your Foley attorney or any of the following individuals:

Katherine L. Aizawa
San Francisco, California
415.438.6483
kaizawa@foley.com

Christopher S. Berry
Madison, Wisconsin
608.258.4230
cberry@foley.com

Lloyd J. Dickinson
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
414.297.5821
ljdickinson@foley.com

Gregg H. Dooge
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
414.297.5805
gdooge@foley.com

Carl D. Fortner
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
414.297.5739
cfortner@foley.com

Robert E. Goldstein
San Diego/Del Mar, California
858.847.6710
rgoldstein@foley.com

Andrew Gregor
San Diego, California
619.685.6476
agregor@foley.com

Samuel F. Hoffman
San Diego, California
619.685.6414
shoffman@foley.com

Sarah B. Krause
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
414.319.7340
skrause@foley.com

Harvey A. Kurtz
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
414.297.5819
hkurtz@foley.com

Belinda S. Morgan
Chicago, Illinois
312.832.4562
bmorgan@foley.com

Isaac J. Morris
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
414.297.4973
Imorris@foley.com

Greg W. Renz
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
414.297.5806
grenz@foley.com

Leigh C. Riley
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
414.297.5846
lriley@foley.com

Timothy L. Voigtman
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
414.297.5677
tvoigtman@foley.com

Michael H. Woolever
Chicago, Illinois
312.832.4594
mwoolever@foley.com

Related Services

Insights

A Review of Recent Whistleblower Developments
19 July 2019
Legal News: Whistleblower Developments
Blockchain: A Tool With a Future in Healthcare
18 July 2019
Health Care Law Today
Do You Know What IMMEX Stands For?
16 July 2019
Dashboard Insights
Does The U.S. Need STRONGER Patents?
16 July 2019
PTAB Trial Insights
Review of 2020 Medicare Changes for Telehealth
11 December 2019
Member Call
2019 NDI Executive Exchange
14-15 November 2019
Chicago, IL
MAGI’s Clinical Research Conference
29 October 2019
Las Vegas, NV
Association for Corporate Counsel Annual Meeting 2019
27-30 October 2019
Phoenix, AZ