Foley Participates in Pro Bono Program to Support Salt Lake Tribune Reporters

29 September 2022 News

Foley & Lardner LLP announced today that it is participating in a pro bono initiative for The Salt Lake Tribune, a news outlet based in Salt Lake City, Utah, designed to support journalists in obtaining public records. The pro bono effort comes as government entities have increasingly denied reporters’ requests for documents that should be public under the law.

The Salt Lake Tribune is a nonprofit news organization with a charitable mission to engage, educate, and empower Utah readers with reporting that informs and advances public dialog. Increasingly, it’s become more difficult for Tribune journalists to report on government-related news due to the inability to obtain public records. According to the news outlet, Tribune reporters filed more than 300 open records requests last year, and most were denied.

Foley attorneys Jared Braithwaite, Melanie Clark, Tyler Dever, and Robert Stewart, all based in the firm’s Salt Lake City office, have committed to providing up to 100 hours a year in pro bono services to represent Tribune reporters in record disputes. Foley is one of five firms in Utah participating in the pro bono effort.

For more information about the Tribune’s pro bono initiative, click here.


What’s Next for Blockchain and Crypto?
01 December 2022
Innovative Technology Insights
Case Law Update: Disputes Relating to Supply Chain Disruptions Hit the Courts
01 December 2022
Manufacturing Industry Advisor
Foley Partner André Thiollier Moderates Global Venture Market Session at BayBrazil Conference
01 December 2022
Foley Ignite
Podcast Episode 96: Eric Williams, Associate
01 December 2022
Foley Career Perspectives
What You Should Know About Payor/Provider Convergence
25-26 January 2023
Los Angeles, CA
ATA EDGE2022 Policy Conference | American Telemedicine Association
7-9 December 2022
Washington, D.C.
CLE Weeks
5-16 December 2022
Milwaukee, WI
Foley Sponsors Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of the Year® Program
1 December 2021 - 30 November 2022
Michigan and Northwest Ohio Region