SEC Enforcement Update

05 May 2010 Web Conference Past Event

Location

Web Conference

Contact Information

Jennifer Bartz
jbartz@foley.com

Agenda

10:00 a.m. PT
12:00 p.m. CT
1:00 p.m. ET
7:00 p.m. CET
Foley’s latest National Directors Institute Web Conference Series, Moving Your Business Forward: Are You Taking the Right Steps?, explores how boards of directors and executives can adapt their corporate governance and business strategies to make the most of changing market conditions.

The NDI Web conference on May 5, 2010 will provided an SEC Enforcement Update.

In response to doubts about the role and effectiveness of the SEC in preventing fraud and seeking sanctions against those engaged in fraudulent activity, the Enforcement Division of the SEC has reorganized and refocused on fraudulent activities with the goal of restoring confidence in the SEC. Specifically, the SEC created new focused investigative units, reassigned its personnel, and made more streamlined the processes for commencing and pursuing enforcement activities. Substantively, the SEC is focusing on investment fund fraud, financial statement fraud, misleading disclosure, violations of the Foreign Corrupt Practices Act, and liabilities of individuals. The SEC's heightened activities make it imperative that all who interact with the public securities markets take measures to ensure compliance with securities laws and rules and regulations of the SEC.

The panel for this session consisted of Foley Partners, Nancy J. Sennett, Kenneth B. Winer and Samuel J. (Sandy) Winer along with Susan Markel, Managing Director from AlixPartners and former SEC Chief Accountant of the Division of Enforcement.

SEC Enforcement Update

Location

Web Conference

Contact Information

Jennifer Bartz
jbartz@foley.com

Agenda

10:00 a.m. PT
12:00 p.m. CT
1:00 p.m. ET
7:00 p.m. CET